Is it enough?

Is it enough?

One of the best news to receive in early July is this…

For many parents who are anxious and worried about a place in their desired school for their children, I can understand since I went through it 9 years ago with my firstborn (we submitted the alumni application on the last day of to be alumni).

I am thankful for the 6 days of childcare leave that I have been fully utilizing it but with two of the older kids in P3 and P2 and now the baby of the family is going P1, it means I will only have 2 days of extended childcare leave. Is this really enough?

Unless one is his own boss, SAHM, have flexible working days and time, I would like to suggest that it may not seem to be enough especially for parents who are full time working and they may have the standard common 14 days of annual leave. I am thankful to be working in an industry where we have more annual leave as part of the package.

Looking at e various days where my older 2 kids do not have school:

Children day

Teacher day

Youth day

Founders day

Off in lieu for national day

E-learning day

Psle marking day

That sums up to about 10 days of no school for them.

It’s great when we have domestic helper, student care, family to help during those days but what if there is none for parents who do not have such luxury? Much as alot have been said and done by the various stakeholders, alot more needs to be done. I have no great solutions but I hope to see more being implemented in the future.

This is just my personal Food For Thought that came across my mind.

Leave a comment